Wednesday, October 26, 2011
Archaeology Excavation Of 20 Years: 150 000 Artifacts From The Early Image Of The Painting Stoney Creek
Years of work and countless hours clocked by local historians, history students and volunteers led to the recent release of two important books on local history.
The first is a print publication that details an archaeological excavation of the property 20 years in Rochester Hills Museum at Van Farm Hussein. The second is a new website with an interactive map of local historic sites and resources.
These two new publications are among the most significant contributions to the preservation of local history, genealogy and anthropology in the last two decades.
An archaeological interpretation of Van HOOSE Farm site was written by Deborah J. Remer, a long-time volunteer and supporter of the museum. The book, published in September, was a large company that Remer and several contributors have examined more than 150,000 artifacts discovered during excavations around the museum grounds, with many photographs, maps and tables detailing the founding of the village of Stoney Creek and the lives of first families of settlers who traveled to the area of Michigan on the east coast in the early 1820s.
Not only does the book contains a complete history and detailed Stoney Creek settlement (including the difference between "Stoney" and "Rocky"), it also traces the lineage of its pioneer families, including Taylor, Millard, Van Wagoner and Van HOOSE reveal some information that may surprise the residents of the region.
For example, 13 U.S. President (1850-1853), Millard Fillmore, was the son of Nathaniel and Polly Millard Fillmore, Millard and cousin of the family, Stoney Creek.
Fillmore, of course, was not the only parent of a family of Stoney Creek to make a name in national politics. Former United States Congressman William S. Broomfield is a descendant of the Taylor family.
Of course, Van Van Hoosen Hoosen Jones Bertha and Sarah, who was the last of the Van Hoosen farm to live in the 1840 which is now part of the complex of Rochester Hills Museum are among the descendants of the most notable and recognizable Stoney Creek Pioneer Village.
An excavation 20 years
Archaeological excavations began in the record book in the spring of 1988 as a way to determine the place of the original 1840 farmhouse, the location of a log cabin and other buildings are used outside before the house was built and the size of "Big Barn", which burned in 1968.
Over the years, hundreds of volunteers - retirees, students, families and others - dug the property of the museum. The excavation site was later expanded to the north and then south, coming to the stables in the mid 1990's.
I was fortunate to be part of this exciting and important excavation, while still in my teens. It may not have been like Indiana Jones looking for the Grail, but for the field of local history, unveiled the 150,000 objects, most of the excavation in the story of how the region came to Rochester be and how early settlers lived and worked. A lot of history can be drawn from the handle of a spoon or an old penny and when you are a part of such an interesting project as an archaeological site, find a nail or a bit of pottery is a great experience .
For two decades, uncovered teams of volunteers and budding anthropologists all possible traces of the original design of the site and the state and the people who once called home. Artifacts carefully extracted from the ground include glass, farm implements, door hardware, nails, dice, plates and cups broken clay pipes, shoes, a bottle of ink and more. All documents have been cataloged and labeled and are in permanent storage at the museum and is sometimes presented in museum exhibits.
For those who worked on the archaeology excavation, and those who support local history ", in the fertile valley of Stony Creek:" An archaeological interpretation of Van HOOSE Farm site is a testament to the rich history and abundant in the Rochester area.